top of page
  • Writer's pictureCyberAcademy

Azariah Knight

Day 1: Hacking

Today I learned about different types of hackers. There are 3 types and are very easy to remember. A white hat hacker is your “good guy” .Those are the ones that are going to help make sure you are safe and secure online. Next there are black Hats hackers who want to steal and destroy your life. Then those in the middle are called grey hat hackers who aren’t good but not necessarily bad. We also learned about the website “haveibeenpwned.com” that tells you if your passwords or email have been hacked and also that Amazon is actually www.relentless.com.

Day 2: Software

During the software portion of the day, I learned about the 3 types of operating systems being Windows, Mac, and Linux. We also learned about the features that each operating system. Then we learned an acronym which is, I eat Twix every Valentine’s Day which helps you with trouble shooting.

Day 3: Hardware

Hardware is physical components of the computer. Today I learned about the main part of the computer. The motherboard is mandatory when making/ owning a computer. The BIOS (Basic Input Output System) is the instructor for the motherboard and the CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semi-Conductor) what powers it. You can Access the BIOS through the opening screen usually through instructions on the bottom of that page. Then we learned about the CPU (Central Processing Unit) which is the brain of the computer and the RAM next to it. There are many types of RAM and few that we learned were called SDRAM, DIMM, and SODIMM.

Day 4: Social Engineering

In social engineering we learned about the art of manipulation. There and many types of ways to manipulate people on the internet but we talked about 5 main types. Phishing, spear phishing, whaling, hoax, and vishing are a few types of social engineering. Then finally we learned how we should be careful on the internet by only going on secure sites and using VPN’s often.

Recent Posts

See All

Zariah Cooper

Reflection Day 1 Today I learned Trouble Shooting Theory, Safety Rules, and Windows, Mac, and Linux Features and Tools. In Trouble Shooting Theory, there are steps that you need to follow if you run i

Warrick DeGroft

Computer software is pretty cool, and I’m glad I learned a lot of these things. I don’t think I’ll work in computer software ever, but the information I now have will be very useful. I learned that wi

Tobias Matthews

I learned a lot of stuff like about people who make computers. Also how computers work I was surprised how big a mother board is. Today was a fun day I thought I was going to be boarded but I was not.

bottom of page